Ressources de durabilité

Sustainability Centre-AlignedLogo

Ressources de durabilité

Le Centre de développement durable s'efforce de fournir des ressources au SÉUO, aux GÉR, aux clubs et à la communauté de l'Université d'Ottawa afin de promouvoir la durabilité et la justice climatique.

Efforts de revendication

Bien que les actions individuelles telles que la réduction des déchets et le recyclage / compostage sont extrêmement importantes, la crise climatique est largement causée et aggravée par les grandes entreprises et leurs pratiques à travers le monde - vous avez peut-être lu que seulement 100 entreprises sont responsables de 71% des émissions mondiales. Vous trouverez ici des ressources sur la justice climatique et comment s'impliquer!

Ressources de rédaction de lettres

Groupes d'action environnemental et de justice climatique sur et hors Campus

  • Courriel : uottawacampingandadventure@gmail.com 
  • À propos : Notre mission est de réunir l'Université d'Ottawa pour découvrir, apprécier et profiter des paysages à couper le souffle du Canada par le camping et les aventures en plein air ! 
  • La préférence sera accordée aux candidat·e·s des groupes en quête d'équité.
  • Instagram
  • À propos : Fondée en 2017, la University of Ottawa Animal Rights Association cherche à réunir des étudiant·es défenseurs des droits des animaux qui partagent les mêmes idées afin d'éduquer les autres sur la façon dont les animaux sont traités dans les industries du divertissement, de la mode et de l'agriculture. L'objectif de l'UOARA est de fournir aux étudiant·es végétalien·nes, végétarien·nes et non végétalien·nes du campus un environnement sûr, ouvert et convivial pour apprendre et participer au mouvement des droits des animaux. Nos événements comprennent des ventes de pâtisseries végétaliennes à des fins caritatives, des projections de documentaires, la location de feuilles et la présentation d'informations axées sur des questions courantes concernant les droits des animaux et le végétalisme.

Environmental and Aboriginal Law Association: adedauo@gmail.com

Environmental Law Students’ Association: elsa.executif@gmail.com

  • La préférence sera accordée aux candidat·e·s des groupes en quête d'équité. 
  • Instagram
  • À propos : Basés dans la région d'Ottawa-Gatineau, sur le territoire non cédé et non abandonné des Anishnaabegs algonquins, nous faisons partie du mouvement pour la justice climatique et environnementale en suivant l'exemple des communautés les plus touchées afin d'assurer un climat vivable pour les générations futures. En renforçant les capacités des communautés, nous remettons en question les systèmes politiques qui ne s'alignent pas sur une planète équitable et saine. Nous participons au processus de réconciliation et de décolonisation, et soutenons l'autodétermination des Premières nations, des Métis et des Inuits. Nous travaillons de manière proactive à la réalisation d'objectifs définis collectivement, tout en comprenant la nécessité d'une mobilisation réactionnaire dans l'organisation du climat, en particulier dans la capitale nationale. 
  • La préférence sera accordée aux candidat·e·s des groupes en quête d'équité. 
  • Instagram
  • Site web 
  • Mission : Éduquer et mobiliser les membres de la région d'Ottawa pour qu'ils agissent sur cette crise climatique et s'attaquent aux problèmes profondément enracinés de cette terre. Susciter et entretenir un esprit de rébellion créative, qui permettra d'apporter les changements nécessaires à nos paysages politiques, économiques et sociaux.
  • Pour démanteler les hiérarchies au sein du gouvernement qui entravent l'action sur cette crise écologique.
  • Apprendre et pratiquer le monde que nous voulons voir à l'avenir, en relation les uns avec les autres et avec l'environnement dont nous faisons partie.
  • Site web
  • À propos : WWO s'est engagé à améliorer les pratiques de gestion des déchets de la ville d'Ottawa et à contribuer à l'écologisation de la ville en soutenant le développement de programmes et d'initiatives de réacheminement des déchets nouveaux et améliorés, conçus pour minimiser la quantité de déchets à éliminer et éviter les impacts des gaz à effet de serre associés à la production et à l'élimination des déchets. Le WWO recherche et examine de nouvelles voies d'avenir, et plaide en faveur d'une nouvelle politique de réacheminement des déchets à Ottawa.
  • Site web
  • Instagram
  • La préférence sera accordée aux candidat·e·s des groupes en quête d'équité.
  • Twitter
  • Youtube
  • En termes simples, "Justice climatique, dirigée par les autochtones". L'ICA s'efforce d'inspirer, de connecter et de soutenir les peuples autochtones afin de renforcer leur place en tant que leaders dans le discours sur le changement climatique et d'apporter des solutions aujourd'hui pour et demain. Leur travail s'articule autour de quatre axes principaux : Rassemblements, Ressources et outils, Amplification des voix et Soutien à la souveraineté des peuples autochtones.
  • Site web
  • À propos : Une organisation de base à Ottawa qui travaille sur la paix, la justice sociale et les questions environnementales en mettant l'accent sur les activités locales.
  • Site web
  • À propos : Le rôle principal du RCEN est de soutenir les ONG environnementales en leur fournissant de précieux services de réseautage et de communication. Le RCEN agit comme un pont vital entre les grands et les petits groupes et les individus au Canada.
  • Site web
  • À propos : Le Climate Action Network (CAN) est un réseau mondial de plus de 1300 organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) dans plus de 130 pays, travaillant à promouvoir l'action gouvernementale et individuelle pour limiter le changement climatique induit par l'homme à des niveaux écologiquement durables.

Sustainability Resources

Sustainability Centre-AlignedLogo

Sustainability Resources

The Sustainability Centre is working to provide resources for the UOSU, RSGs, clubs, and the uOttawa community in order to promote sustainability and climate justice.

Advocacy

While individual actions like reducing waste and recycling/ composting are extremely important, the climate crisis is overwhelmingly caused and worsened by large corporations and their practices around the world– you may have read that just 100 companies are to blame for 71% of global emissions. Here you’ll find resources on climate justice and how to get involved!

Letter Writing Resources

Environmental & Climate Groups on and Off Campus

  • Facebook 
  • Instagram
  • Email: climatejusticec@gmail.com
  • About: CJC UO is a student run, non-profit grassroot organization aimed towards achieving climate justice. CJC will work hand in hand with local climate justice organizations as well as plan and attend strikes, walkouts and events.
  • Facebook 
  • About: Roots & Shoots was founded by Jane Goodall, a renowned primatologist and anthropologist, with the goal of getting young people involved in the environment and their communities. We are hoping to continue this great journey at the University of Ottawa!
  • Facebook
  • Email mealcare.uottawa@gmail.com 
  • Website https://www.mealcare.org/intro 
  • About: Our purpose is to create a platform that distributes food from grocery stores and the University of Ottawa cafeteria to local homeless shelters and soup kitchens. MealCare is a sustainable and efficient program designed to divert edible food from landfill. Not only are we reducing food and energy waste, but we are addressing the ongoing issue of hunger and food insecurity in our society.
  • Email: uottawacampingandadventure@gmail.com 
  • About: Our mission is to bring uOttawa together to experience, appreciate, and enjoy Canada’s breathtaking outdoors through camping and outdoor adventures! 
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • About: Founded in 2017, The University of Ottawa Animal Rights Association seeks to bring like-minded student animal rights activists together to educate others on the ways in which animals are treated in the entertainment, fashion, and agriculture industries. The UOARA’s goal is to provide vegan, vegetarian, and non-veg students on campus a safe, open and friendly environment to learn about and participate in the animal rights movement. Our events include charity vegan bake sales, documentary screenings, leaf-letting and informational tabling focused on common questions about animal rights and veganism.

Environmental and Aboriginal Law Association: adedauo@gmail.com

Environmental Law Students’ Association: elsa.executif@gmail.com

  • Facebook 
  • Instagram
  • Website
  • About: Indigenous Solidarity Ottawa, based in unceded and unsurrendered Algonquin Territory, is a grassroots organization of settlers who aim to directly support Indigenous Peoples in diverse struggles for justice, sovereignty and decolonization.
  • Facebook 
  • Instagram
  • About: Based in the Ottawa-Gatineau region, on unceded and unsurrendered Algonquin Anishnaabeg territory, we are part of the climate and environmental justice movement following the lead of the most impacted communities to ensure a liveable climate for future generations. Through empowering communities, we challenge political systems that do not align with an equitable and healthy planet. We participate in the process of reconciliation and decolonization, and support First Nations, Métis and Inuit self-determination. We work in a proactive way towards collectively-defined goals, while understanding the necessity for reactionary mobilization in climate organizing, particularly in the national capital. 
  • Facebook 
  • Instagram
  • Website 
  • Mission: To educate and mobilize members of the Ottawa region to act on this climate crisis and address the deeply rooted problems of this land. To spark and sustain a spirit of creative rebellion, which will enable much needed changes in our political, economic and social landscapes.
  • To break down hierarchies within the government that are hindering action on this ecological crisis.
  • To learn and practice the world we want to see in the future, in relating to each other and the environment that we are a part of.
  • Facebook 
  • Instagram
  • About: Coalition Large d’Initiative de Mobilisation et d’Action pour la Terre, Gatineau/Ottawa
  • Facebook 
  • Instagram 
  • About: Youth led/organized Climate+Social Justice group on Unceded (STOLEN) Algonquin Anishinaabe territory
  • Facebook
  • Email: lpsugatineauottawa@gmail.com 
  • About: Mouvement étudiant pour lutter contre la négligence en matière de changements climatiques dont font preuve les dirigeants québécois, canadiens et mondiaux.  
  • Facebook 
  • Instagram
  • Email: climateactioncarleton@gmail.com 
  • About: A hub for Carleton University students to advocate and take action towards climate change. Stay up to date with upcoming events, information, and announcements of what we are doing to create positive change that you can be a part of!
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Website
  • About: We are a volunteer-driven, non-profit organization working to make Ottawa the green capital of Canada.
  • Website
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email: info@envirocentre.ca
  • About: Providing people, communities, and organizations with practical solutions to lightning their environmental impact. Their work focuses on: Green homes, transportation, lifestyles, and business.
  • Website
  • About: WWO is committed to improving the City of Ottawa’s waste management practices and contributing to a greening of the City by supporting the development of new and improved waste diversion programs and initiatives designed to minimize the amount of waste being disposed of and avoiding the greenhouse gas impacts associated with waste generation and waste disposal. WWO researches and reviews new ways forward, and advocates for a new waste diversion policy in Ottawa.
  • Website
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Youtube
  • About: Simply put, “Climate Justice, Indigenous- Led”. The ICA works to inspire, connect, and support Indigenous Peoples to reinforce their place as leaders in climate change discourse and driving solutions today for and tomorrow. Their work is grounded in four main pathways: Gatherings, Resources and Tools, Amplifying Voices, and Supporting Indigenous Sovereignty.
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • About: A platform for locals to learn about waste in Ottawa and tips on how to reduce waste.
  • Website
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LSC works with people to help improve their understanding of healthy ecosystems, support grass-roots community stewardship efforts, and encourage the development of practices and policies that support sustainable resource use. They strive to enable people and organizations to become better stewards.
  • Website
  • About: A grassroots organization in Ottawa working on peace, social justice, and environmental issues with an emphasis on local activities.
  • Website
  • About: RCEN’s primary role is to support environmental NGO’s by providing them with valuable networking and communication services. RCEN acts as a vital bridge between large and small groups and individuals in Canada.
  • Website
  • About: The Climate Action Network (CAN) is a worldwide network of over 1300 Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) in more than 130 countries, working to promote government and individual action to limit human-induced climate change to ecologically sustainable levels.

Campus Sustainability

Here you’ll find resources on all things sustainability at uOttawa- from how to recycle and compost to organizing sustainable events on campus!

Where to buy reusable masks 

CampusBingo-Fr
CampusBingo-En

Local Food Spots in Ottawa

Good for catering/ snacks at events, vegetarian/ vegan options

Local artists/artisans in the region

Sustainability at home

Resources to help bring sustainability into your everyday life! 

SustainabilityBingo-FR
SustainabilityBingo-FR

To find out more on recycling and composting in Ottawa you can visit their website.

Media on Sustainability & Climate Change

Policies

Here is the Sustainability Centre’s draft Sustainable and Ethical Policy. Please note that the policy is currently awaiting translation and review by the Board of Directors.