Élections partielles

Élections partielles

Automne 2021

Impliquez-vous

Il est maintenant temps d'élire les étudiant·e·s qui occuperont les postes vacants au sein du Comité exécutif et de notre Conseil d'administration ! 

L'Union des étudiants de l'Université d'Ottawa tiendra ses élections partielles du 12 au 14 octobre 2021. Tous les membres sont invités à y participer. Veuillez noter que cette élection partielle se déroulera entièrement en ligne.

La période de nomination s'étend du dimanche 12 septembre au samedi 25 septembre. Veuillez soumettre votre formulaire de nomination à ceo@seuo-uosu.com.

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez envoyer un courriel à : elections@seuo-uosu.com 

20190905-BF-WELCOME-WEEK-348

Élections partielles

Il est temps de voter pour les candidats aux élections partielles de 2021 !

Calendrier

  • Samedi 4 septembre à 16h00: Avis d’élection
  • Du dimanche 12 septembre à 0 h 01 au samedi 25 septembre à 23 h 59: Période de nomination
  • 27 et 28 septembre: Les tests de bilinguisme
  • Vers le jeudi 30 septembre:
    Séance d'information pour les candidat(e)s
  •  Du dimanche 3 octobre à 18h00 au dimanche 10 octobre à 23h59: Période de campagne
  • Du lundi 11 octobre à 0h01 au mardi 12 octobre à 0h01 (lundi de Thanksgiving): Période d'interdiction d'accès:
  • Du mardi 12 octobre à 0h01 au jeudi 14 octobre à 23h59: Période de vote:
  • Vendredi 15 octobre à 1h00 (Au plus tard: vendredi 15 octobre à 23h59): Publication des résultats officieux
  • Lundi 18 octobre à 15h00 (réunion ordinaire): Ratifications of Results : Senate
  • Dimanche 24 octobre à 16h00 (réunion ordinaire): Ratifications of Results : Conseil d’administration

Calendrier

Samedi 4 septembre à 16h00
Du dimanche 12 septembre à 0 h 01 au samedi 25 septembre à 23 h 59
27 et 28 septembre
Vers le jeudi 30 septembre
Du dimanche 3 octobre à 18h00 au dimanche 10 octobre à 23h59
Du lundi 11 octobre à 0h01 au mardi 12 octobre à 0h01 (lundi de Thanksgiving)
Du mardi 12 octobre à 0h01 au jeudi 14 octobre à 23h59
Vendredi 15 octobre à 1h00 (Au plus tard: vendredi 15 octobre à 23h59)
Dimanche 24 octobre à 16h00 (réunion ordinaire)
Lundi 18 octobre à 15h00 (réunion ordinaire)
  • 22 février au 7 mars à 23h: Période de nomination 
  • 7 au 10 mars: Évaluation des connaissances linguistiques des candidat·e·s à l’exécutif 
  • 12 mars: Dernier jour pour l'enregistrement des bénévoles avant le début de la campagne 
  • À déterminer: Réunion de tous·tes les candidat·e·s à l'exécutif 
  • À déterminer: Réunion de tous·tes les candidat·e·s au Conseil d'administration 
  • 13 mars: Publication de la liste officielle des candidat·e·s  
  • 14 mars: Super Sunday (Postering begins) 
  • 14 au 22 mars: Début de la campagne 
  • 14 au 22 mars à 23h: Période de campagne 
  • À déterminer: Executive candidates debate 
  • 23 mars: Black-out period begins (Campaigning is prohibited) 
  • 24 mars à 9h au 27 mars à 21hpm: Jours de vote 
  • 28 mars: Résultats 
  • À déterminer: Dernier jour pour soumettre les demandes de remboursement (candidat(e)s) 

Documents d'élection

students-2

*Veuillez noter qu'en raison de COVID-19 et du fait que nos élections se déroulent en ligne, nous accepterons trois types de signatures de la part des partisans et des bénévoles sur le formulaire de candidature et le formulaire de bénévolat :

1) Signature physique
2) Signature électronique
3) Numéro étudiant avec les initiales du nom complet (ex : 0123456789 AB)

Postes Vacants

SÉUO Conseil d'administration

  • Faculté d’éducation
    1
  • Faculté de droit - Section Common Law
    1
  • Faculté des arts
    1
  • Faculté de génie
    2

SÉUO Comité Exécutif

  • Commissaire à l’équité

Université Sénat

  • Faculté des sciences de la santé
    1
- mandat se terminant le 30 avril 2022
  • Faculté d’éducation
    1

– please contact Camille Beaudin (bcamille@uottawa.ca). Term ending April 30, 2022

Université Bureau des gouverneurs

  • Un (1) siège à combler (candidature ouverte à toutes les facultés)
    1

*Mandat de deux ans, du 1er mai 2021 au 30 avril 2023

Résultats des élections partielles

Les résultats des élections générales de 2021 !

Faculté de génie

Faculté de génie

Chloe BERGERON - Oui (121)
90.3%
Chloe BERGERON - Non (13)
18.8%

Postes au Comité exécutif

Commissaire à l’équité

Sana Almansour - Oui (1139)
89.1%
Sana Almansour - Non (139)
10.9%

Université Sénat

Faculté des sciences de la santé

Harneet Cheema - Oui (113)
90.4%
Harneet Cheema - Non (12)
9.6%
Postes au Conseil d'administration

Faculté d’éducation

(x1 poste disponible)

Poste vacant

Faculty of Law - Common Law Section

(x1 poste disponible)

Poste vacant

Faculté des arts

(x1 poste disponible)

Poste vacant

Faculté de génie

(x2 poste disponible)

Chloe BERGERON

Faculté de génie

Salut tout le monde! Je m'appelle Chloe Bergeron et j'aimerais représenter les étudiants en génie au Conseil d'Administration du Syndicat Étudiant de l'Université d'Ottawa! 

Je suis impliquée dans la politique étudiante depuis ma première année, et je suis maintenant dans ma cinquième et dernière année poursuivant un double diplôme en français en Génie Chimique et en Technologie de l’Informatique. Je représente notre faculté de génie au niveau provincial et national depuis plus d'un an déjà, car j'étais Vice-Présidente des Affaires Externes l'année dernière et je suis maintenant Présidente de l'Association des Étudiants en Génie. 

J'ai également défendu les droits des étudiants par l'intermédiaire de la Fédération Canadienne des Étudiants en Génie en tant que Vice-Présidente des Services et j'ai beaucoup d'expérience à diriger une équipe et à me battre pour ce en quoi je crois. À l'Université d'Ottawa et au Conseil des Associations Étudiantes en Génie de l'Ontario (CAÉGO), je me bats pour les étudiants francophones et leurs droits à participer pleinement à leurs cours et activités. J'essaye également de rendre notre corps professoral plus inclusif et accessible, alors j'aimerais étendre cela à l'Université d'Ottawa dans son ensemble par le biais du Conseil d'Administration du SÉUO.

Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations au sujet de ma plateforme ou si vous souhaitez simplement discuter, n'hésitez pas à m'envoyer un courriel à tout moment à cberg055@uottawa.ca!

Postes au Comité exécutif

Commissaire à l’équité

Sana ALMANSOUR

Faculté des sciences de la santé

Bonjour UOttawa ! Je m'appelle Sana Almansour et je suis une étudiante de quatrième année en sciences de la santé avec une spécialisation en innovation et en technologie des soins de santé. Je fais également partie de l'École de gestion Telfer avec une mineure en gestion. En tant qu'étudiants de l'Université d'Ottawa, nous comprenons l'importance de l'équité au sein de notre université. Des sujets tels que l'antiracisme et l'anti discrimination, la défense d'une éducation égale pour tous, les droits des femmes sur le campus, la représentation et l'augmentation des ressources importantes qui ont un impact direct sur notre apprentissage continu.

En tant que commissaire intérimaire à l'équité, ce fut un honneur de servir ces quelques mois en luttant pour vos droits sur le campus et en veillant à ce que nous ayons tous des chances égales en matière d'éducation, de ressources de santé et d'espace sécuritaire et non discriminatoire tout au long de notre séjour à l'Université d'Ottawa. En tant qu'étudiants du premier cycle universitaire, nous aimerions tous que notre voix soit écoutée et que nos opinions soient prises en considération. En tant que membre élu du comité exécutif de l'UOSU, en tant que commissaire à l'équité, j'ai l'intention de présenter ces opinions et ces voix afin d'apporter des changements concrets pour une expérience universitaire plus accessible et plus raffinée pour tous les étudiants. Je serais honorée de recevoir votre vote pour le poste de commissaire à l'équité lors de ces élections partielles !

Université Sénat

Faculté des sciences de la santé

Harneet CHEEMA

Faculté des sciences de la santé

Bonjour!

Je m’appelle Harneet Cheema, je suis en 3ème année et je suis une candidate pour vous représenter au Sénat de l’Université d’Ottawa. J’aspire à être l’intermédiaire entre vous et l’administration à OttawaU. Mon intention et de vous aider à adresser vos soucis au niveau de la faculté pour vous assurer d’avoir une belle expérience universitaire.

Mes objectives:

  • Un meilleur support pour santé mental!
    • Les étudiants doivent savoir qu’ils ne sont jamais seuls face à leurs problèmes.
    • Il est vrai que notre université fournie des ressources mais il y a beaucoup à améliorer.
    • Currently, I am on the uOttawa Mental Health Wellness Advisory Committee and gaining unique insight into what students need, which I will act upon at a faculty-level if elected.
    • J’assiste au développement d’un cours sur BrightSpace avec des ressources, des informations et des modules pour éduquer, supporter et déstigmatiser.
  • Plus de ressources financières!
    • En étant une exécutive au consulat d’étudiants, je pense que les frais universitaires posent problème aux étudiants.
    • J’espère de résoudre ce problème par:
    • Un rassemblement pour réduire les frais universitaires
    • Par promouvoir des bourses pour les étudiants, et cela en partenariat avec des organisations pour faciliter le sucées scolaire.
  • Régulations académiques plus flexibles!
    • Je veux vous assurer une bonne transition des cours en ligne aux cours en personne, ce qui inclut plaider pour la continuation des cours synchrone/asynchrone.

Si vous avez des questions ou soucis, n’hésitez pas de me contacter sur Instagram (@HarneetCheema), Facebook, ou email (hchee092@uottawa.ca). Je suis toujours disponible :)

Faculté d’éducation

Poste vacant

Avis d’élection partielle

Assemblée générale d'automne

Aimeriez-vous vous présenter aux élections du SÉUO pour faire parti du Comité exécutif ou le Conseil d'administration? Les élections partielles auront lieu du 9 novembre à 10h00 au 11 novembre 2020 à 19h00.

La période de nomination était du 12 octobre à 8h00 au 27 octobre 2020 à 15h00.. Vous devez soumettre votre formulaire de candidature avant 15h00 le 27 octobre prochain au bureau du SÉUO (UCU 07) ou envoyer un courriel à elections@seuo-uosu.com

Période de campagnedu 1 novembre au 07 novembre 2020

Débat :le 07 novembre 2020 à 17h30?

Jours de votedu 9 novembre à 10h00 au 11 novembre 2020 à 19h00.

Êtes-vous curieux·se sur le déroulement du processus électoral, sur les postes à pourvoir lors des élections, et sur les responsabilités y étant associées? Nous avons les réponses!

Le Comité exécutif est composé de sept (7) Commissaires gérant les activités du SÉUO au quotidien et supervisant ses opérations. Les postes sont :

  • Président·e : Le rôle du ou de la Président·e est un nouveau poste destiné à soutenir les autres commissaires dans leurs rôles, à représenter le SÉUO dans les communications et dans les relations avec les GÉR et l'administration. Le ou la Président·e assume également le rôle de Commissaire à la revendication en matière de ressources humaines et opérations, en étroite collaboration avec le ou la Commissaire aux opérations. Au-delà d'un rôle de leadership, le rôle du ou de la Président·e est essentiel pour responsabiliser le Comité exécutif et s'assurer que les projets se terminent, respecte les délais et assure le bon fonctionnement du Syndicat. Le ou la Président·e est sous la direction du Comité exécutif et est également président de la Table ronde du président (TRP) ainsi que du Comité de gouvernance et du Comité exécutif.
  • Commissaire aux opérations : conjointement avec le ou la Commissaire à la revendication, le ou la Commissaire aux opérations a pour tâche la supervision de l’administration générale du SÉUO. Le ou la Commissaire à ce poste dirigera et supervisera les opérations internes de l’organisme et a pour tâche la planification des réunions et la préparation des ordres du jour. Il ou Elle sera aussi responsable de la Coop vélo, de la Banque alimentaire, du Service de raccompagnement, du Centre de développement durable et de l’ÉPRÉUO. Dans le cas où le SÉUO ait des relations d’affaires, le ou la Commissaire aux opérations devra aussi les superviser.
  • Commissaire à la revendication : responsable de la supervision du travail de revendication de l’organisme, notamment des groupes de pression et des campagnes d’éducation du public. Conjointement avec le ou la Commissaire aux opérations, il ou elle doit superviser le travail de l’administration générale. La personne à ce poste doit aussi maintenir des relations avec l’Université d’Ottawa et, le cas échéant, avec les gouvernements et les organisations et organismes externes. En plus de cela, le ou la Commissaire à la revendication supervisera les opérations de la Maison internationale, le Centre d’entraide, et le Centre des droits étudiants.
  • Commissaire à l’équité: a la tâche de diriger et de superviser tout travail en matière d'équité au SÉUO. Le ou la Commissaire à l'équité agit au nom des communautés marginalisées en les défendant et en combattant la discrimination à l'Université d'Ottawa. Il ou elle est responsable des relations avec des organismes actifs visant à établir l’équité à l'Université d'Ottawa, et doit superviser les opérations du Centre des étudiants ayant une incapacité (CÉI), le Centre de la fierté, le Centre de ressource des fxmmes, le Centre multi-foi et le Centre d’expérience pour les étudiant·e·s racialisé·e·s et Autochtones (EÉRA).
  • Commissaire aux affaires francophones : étudiant·e qui s’auto-identifie comme francophone qui dirige et supervise les services et les programmes touchant les étudiant·e·s francophones pour assurer leur accessibilité linguistique. Le ou la Commissaire aux affaires francophones agit au nom de la défense des francophones et travaille à promouvoir la francophonie sur le campus. À titre de ce rôle, il ou elle doit aussi superviser les opérations du Centre de bilinguisme et gérer les plaintes des étudiant·e·s en matière de bilinguisme.
  • Commissaire à la vie étudiante : est responsable des clubs étudiants et de leur représentation au sein du SÉUO, de la planification des événements sociaux (comme la Semaine 101), et de la supervision des Productions Zoom. Le ou la Commissaire à la vie étudiante sera aussi responsable des relations entre le SÉUO et les gouvernements étudiants reconnus (les corps fédérés), et d’assurer la diversité des événements et des activités sociales sur le campus de l'Université d'Ottawa. Il ou elle travaillera étroitement avec l’administration afin d’assurer que les intérêts des étudiant·e·s soient au centre de la planification d’événements.
  • Commissaire aux services aux étudiant(e)s : Le ou la Commissaire aux services aux étudiant·e·s supervise les services ainsi que les clubs du SÉUO. Il ou elle présidera le Comité des services, qui supervise les services du SÉUO, ainsi que tout ce qui concerne les clubs et associations étudiantes reconnues par le SÉUO. Cette année, le ou la Commissaire aux services aux étudiant·e·s préside également la table ronde sur les communications. 

Le Conseil d'administration (CA) est un corps d’étudiant·e·s élu·e·s qui représentent leurs facultés respectives dans les affaires internes du SÉUO. Ce conseil a pour tâche de voter sur les motions (propositions) et l’amendement (modification) de certaines parties de la Constitution, l’organisation de réunions mensuelles du Conseil, et la supervision des finances du Syndicat. C’est un travail incroyablement important qui n’est pas aussi chronophage que les postes de Commissaire, et une bonne occasion de s’impliquer dans le mouvement étudiant!

Afin de pouvoir devenir Commissaire, l’étudiant·e doit passer un examen de bilinguisme (français et anglais) tel qu’administré par l’Institut des langues officielles et du bilinguisme (ILOB). Il existe différentes exigences de niveau de bilinguisme pour chaque poste, vous pouvez les consulter dans notre Constitution et dans notre Code électoral. Puisque ce sont des postes salariés à temps plein au sein du syndicat, les membres élus du Comité exécutif ne peuvent pas s’inscrire à plus de deux (2) cours par trimestre dans l’année de leur mandat, ce qui implique que les Commissaires soient des étudiant·e·s à temps partiel ou exceptionnellement à plus de deux (2) cours par trimestre dans l’année de leur mandat s’ils ou elles sont étudiant·e·s internationaux·ales. Cela vise à assurer que leur priorité première soit le travail pour lequel ils ou elles ont été élu·e·s et qu’ils ou elles sont payé·e·s à faire.

Les Directeurs et Directrices provisoires du SÉUO superviseront le Comité des élections. Ces trois (3) membres, parmi lesquels un·e directeur·rice général·e des élections (DGE), sont responsables de la gestion des plaintes des candidat·e·s et de l’application des sanctions, au besoin. Si une des personnes candidates n’est pas d’accord avec la décision du Comité des élections, elle peut faire appel au Comité des appels, composé de trois (3) autres étudiant·e·s. Toutes les décisions du Comité des appels sont finales. Veuillez consulter notre Code électoral pour plus de renseignements.

If positions still remain vacant after these by-elections, the Board will have the power to appoint interim Executive members to fill any vacancies on the Executive Committee; such interim Executives would be in place until the General Elections.

Yes. Vacancies do not hinder the Board’s ability to pass binding motions, and any vacant Executive positions can be filled by an interim member.

Veuillez noter que cette élection partielle se déroulera entièrement en ligne.

By-Elections

By-elections

Fall 2021

Get Involved

It’s now time to elect students to fill the vacant positions on the Executive Committee and our Board of Directors! 

The University of Ottawa Students’ Union will hold its By-Elections from October 12-14, 2021. All members are invited to participate. Please note this by-election will be taking place entirely online.

Interested in advocacy?The nomination period is from Sunday, September 12 to Saturday, September 25. Please submit your nomination form to ceo@seuo-uosu.com.

If you have any general questions, please email to: elections@seuo-uosu.com 

20190905-BF-WELCOME-WEEK-348

By-Elections

It's time to vote for the candidates in the 2021 By-Elections!

Timeline

  • Saturday, September 4th at 4:00pm: Notice of election
  • Sunday, September 12th at 12:01am to Saturday, September 25th at 11:59pm: Nomination period
  • September 27th & 28th: Bilingualism Testing
  • Thursday, September 30th:
    Candidate Information Session
  •  Sunday, October 3rd at 6:00pm to Sunday, October 10th at 11:59pm: Campaign Period
  • Monday, October 11th at 12:01am to Tuesday, October 12th at 12:01am (Thanksgiving Monday): Blackout Period
  • Tuesday, October 12th at 12:01am to Thursday, October 14th at 11:59pm: Voting Period
  • Friday, October 15th at 1:00am (At latest: Friday, October 15th at 11:59pm): Unofficial Results Released
  • Monday, October 18th at 3:00pm (ordinary meeting): Ratifications of Results : Senate
  • Sunday, October 24th at 4:00pm (ordinary meeting): Ratifications of Results : Board of Directors

Timeline

Saturday, September 4th at 4:00pm
Sunday, September 12th at 12:01am to Saturday, September 25th at 11:59pm
September 27th & 28th
Around Thursday, September 30th
Sunday, October 3rd at 6:00pm to Sunday, October 10th at 11:59pm
Monday, October 11th at 12:01am to Tuesday, October 12th at 12:01am (Thanksgiving Monday)
Tuesday, October 12th at 12:01am to Thursday, October 14th at 11:59pm
Friday, October 15th at 1:00am (At latest: Friday, October 15th at 11:59pm)
Sunday, October 24th at 4:00pm (ordinary meeting)
Monday, October 18th at 3:00pm (ordinary meeting)
  • February 22 to March 7 at 11pm: Nomination period 
  • March 7-10: Evaluation of the language skills of executive candidates 
  • March 12: Last day to register volunteers before the campaign begins 
  • TBD: All candidate meeting for executive candidates 
  • TBD: All candidate meeting for Board Candidates 
  • March 13: Publication of the official list of candidates  
  • March 14: Super Sunday (Postering begins) 
  • March 14-22: Beginning of campaign 
  • March 14 to 22 at 11pm: Campaign period 
  • TBD: Executive candidates debate 
  • March 23: Black-out period begins (Campaigning is prohibited) 
  • March 24 at 9am – March 27 at 9pm: Voting Days 
  • March 28: Election Results 
  • TBD: Last day for candidates to submit reimbursement requests 

Election Forms

students-2

*Please note: Due to COVID-19 and our elections taking place online, we will accept three types of signatures from Supporters and Volunteers on the Nomination Form and Volunteer Form :

1) Physical signature
2) Electronic signature
3) Student Number with initials that appear in the Full Name (ex: 0123456789 AB)

Available positions

UOSU Board of Directors

  • Faculty of Education
    1
  • Faculty of Law - Common Law
    1
  • Faculty of Arts
    1
  • Faculty of Engineering
    2

UOSU Executive Committee

  • Equity Commissioner

University Senate

  • Faculty of Health Science
    1
– term ending April 30, 2022
  • Faculty of Education
    1

– please contact Camille Beaudin (bcamille@uottawa.ca). Term ending April 30, 2022

University Board of Governors

  • One (1) seat to fill (application to all faculties)
    1

*Two-Year Term, from May 1st, 2021 to April 30th, 2023

By-Elections Results

The 2021 General Elections Results!

Faculty of Engineering

Faculty of Engineering

Chloe BERGERON - Yes (121)
90.3%
Chloe BERGERON - No (13)
18.8%

Executive Committee Positions

Equity Commissioner

Sana Almansour - Yes (1139)
89.1%
Sana Almansour - No (139)
10.9%

University Senate

Faculty of Health Science

Harneet Cheema - Yes (113)
90.4%
Harneet Cheema - No (12)
9.6%
Board of Directors Positions

Faculty of Education

(x1 Position Available)

Vacant Position

Faculty of Law - Common Law Section

(x1 Position Available)

Vacant Position

Faculty of Arts

(x1 Position Available)

Vacant Position

Faculty of Engineering

(x2 Position Available)

Chloe BERGERON

Faculty of Engineering

Hi folks! My name is Chloe Bergeron and I’d like to represent engineering students on the University of Ottawa Student’s Union’s Board of Directors! 

I’ve been involved in student politics since my first year, and am now in my fifth and final year pursuing a double degree in French in Chemical Engineering and Computing Technology. I’ve represented uOttawa Engineering on a provincial and national level for over a year already, as I was the VP of External Affairs last year and am now the President of the Engineering Students Society. 

I’ve also been advocating for student rights through the Canadian Federation of Engineering Students as their VP Services and have a lot of experience leading a team and fighting for what I believe in. At uOttawa and at the Engineering Students Societies’ Council of Ontario (ESSCO), I’ve been fighting for French students and their rights to fully participate in their classes and activities. I’ve also been trying to make our faculty more inclusive and accessible, so I’d love to expand that to uOttawa as a whole through UOSU’s BoD.

If you have any questions or concerns about my platform or would simply like to chat, feel free to email me at any time at cberg055@uottawa.ca!

Executive Committee Positions

Equity Commissioner

Sana ALMANSOUR

Faculty of Health Sciences

Hello UOttawa! My name is Sana Almansour, and I am a fourth-year student in Health Sciences where I specialize in healthcare innovation and technology. I am also part of the Telfer School of Management with a minor in management. As students of UOttawa we understand the importance of equity within our university. Topics such as antiracism and anti-discrimination, advocating for equal education for all, womxn’s rights on campus, representation, and increasing important resources that have a direct impact on our continuous learning.

As Interim Equity Commissioner it has been an honour to serve these few months fighting for your rights on campus and to make sure that we all have an equal opportunity for education, health resources, and a safe and non-discriminatory space throughout our time at the university of Ottawa. As an undergraduate body, we all would like our voice to be heard and our opinions considered. As an elected member of the UOSU’s executive committee, as equity commissioner I intend to represent these opinions and voices to make concrete changes for a more accessible and finer university experience for us all. I would be honoured to receive your vote for Equity Commissioner in these By-Elections!

University Senate

Faculty of Health Science

Harneet CHEEMA

Faculty of Health Sciences

Hello!

My name is Harneet Cheema, I’m in 3rd year, and I’m running to represent you on the University of Ottawa Senate. I strive to be the connection between your voice and administrative powers at uOttawa. I intend on addressing your concerns at a faculty-level to ensure the best university experience possible for you.

My objectives:

  • Better Mental Health Support!
    • Students should know they are never alone in their struggles
    • While uOttawa provides resources, there is a lot to be done
    • Currently, I am on the uOttawa Mental Health Wellness Advisory Committee and gaining unique insight into what students need, which I will act upon at a faculty-level if elected.
    • I am helping develop a mental health custom-course on BrightSpace, consisting of resources, information, and modules meant to educate, support, and destigmatize.
  • More Financial Support!
    • As an executive on student council, I find that tuition costs are a recurring concern for students.
    • I hope to address this concern by:
    • Rallying to decrease tuition for all
    • Providing more bursaries and scholarships for students by partnering with organizations with the mandate of promoting student success
  • More Flexible Academic Regulations!
    • I want to ensure your transition from online to in-person learning is as smooth as possible, which includes advocating for the continuation of the S/NS option

If you have any questions/concerns, don’t hesitate to reach out on Instagram (@HarneetCheema), Facebook, or email (hchee092@uottawa.ca)! I’m always open to discussions with my peers 🙂

Faculty of Education

Vacant Position

Notice of by-elections

Fall General Assembly

Would you like to run for the UOSU elections and be on the Executive Committee or the Board of Directors? By-elections will be held from November 9th at 10:00am. to November 11th, 2020 at 7:00 pm.

The nomination period was from October 12th at 8:00 am. to October 27th, 2020 at 3:00 pm. to October 27th, 2020 at 3:00 pm. You must submit your nomination form by 3:00 pm on October 27th, 2020 at the UOSU office (UCU 07) or send an email to elections@seuo-uosu.com.

Campaign period: November 1st 2020 – November 7th, 2020

Debate: November 7th, 2020 at 5:30pm

Voting Days: November 9th at 10:00 am. – November 11th, 2019 at 7:00pm

Curious to know how our elections process will go, what positions are up for election, and what responsibilities fall under each? Check out our answers below!

The Executive Committee is formed of seven (7) Commissioners who manage the day-to-day activities of the UOSU and oversee its operations. The positions are:

  • President: The role of the President is a new position, meant to support the other commissioners in their roles, represent the UOSU in communications and in relations with RSGs and the administration. The President also takes on the managing commissioner role from the Advocacy Commissioner, sharing this along with the Operations commissioner in human resources and operations. Beyond a leadership role, the President is key to holding the Executive Committee accountable and ensuring the Executive Committee completes its projects, respects deadlines and ensures the smooth operations of the Union. The President reports to the Executive Committee and he is also the Chair of the President’s Round Table as well as the Governance Committee and the Executive Committee.
  • Operations Commissioner: along with the Advocacy Commissioner, is tasked with supervising the General Manager of the UOSU. This role will also direct and oversee the internal operations of the organisation and is tasked with scheduling meetings and preparing agendas. This position is responsible for the Bike Co-op, the Food Bank, the Foot Patrol, the Sustainable Development Centre, and UOSERT. Should UOSU have any business dealings, the Operations Commissioner would also oversee them.
  • Advocacy Commissioner: responsible for overseeing the advocacy work of the organisation, including lobbying and public education campaigns. Along with the Operations Commissioner, they shall supervise the work of the General Manager. This position is also tasked with maintaining relations with the University of Ottawa and, where appropriate, with governments and external organisations. In addition to this, the Advocacy Commissioner will oversee the operations of the International House, the Peer Help Centre, and the Student Rights Centre.
  • Equity Commissioner: tasked with directing and overseeing the equity-building work of the UOSU. They shall advocate on behalf of marginalized communities and fight against discrimination at uOttawa. They are responsible for relations with equity-building organisations active at uOttawa, and shall oversee the operations of the Centre of Students with Disabilities, the Pride Centre, the Women’s Resource Centre, the Multi-Faith Centre and the Racialized and Indigenous Student Experience (RISE) Centre.
  • Francophone Affairs Commissioner: must be a student who self-identifies as francophone, shall direct and oversee services and programs aimed at francophone students, ensuring their linguistic accessibility. They shall advocate on behalf of francophones and work to promote la francophonie on campus. This role shall also oversee the operations of the Bilingualism Centre and deal with any bilingualism-related student complaints.
  • Student Life Commissioner: responsible for student clubs and their representation in UOSU, planning of social events (such as 101 Week), and overseeing Zoom Productions. This Executive will be responsible for relations between the UOSU and Recognized Student Governments (Federated Bodies) and will ensure a diversity of events and social activities on the uOttawa campus. They will work closely with the administration to ensure student interests are central to event planning.
  • Student Services Commissioner: The Student Services Commissioner supervises the services as well as the clubs of the UOSU. The Student services commissioner shall be the chair of the Services committee, which oversees the services of the UOSU, as well as things that relate to UOSU recognized student clubs and associations. This year, the Student Services Commissioner also chairs the Communications Round Table. 

The BoD is a body of elected students who represent their respective faculties in the internal affairs of the UOSU. They are tasked with voting on motions, amending certain parts of the Constitution, holding monthly Board meetings, and overseeing the financials of the Union. This is an incredibly important job that doesn’t require as much time as the Commissioner positions, and it is a great opportunity to get involved in the student movement!

In order to be a Commissioner, a student must pass a bilingualism test (English and French) as administered by the University of Ottawa’s Official Languages and Bilingualism Institute (OLBI). There are different levels of bilingualism requirements for each position, which you can access in both our Constitution and our Electoral Code. As it is a full-time, salaried position within the union, elected Executive Committee members cannot register for more than two (2) courses per semester in the year of their mandate, meaning that Commissioners must be part-time students or exceptionally more than two (2) courses per semester in the year of their mandate if they are international students. This is to ensure that their first priority is the job that they were elected and will be paid to do.

The UOSU’s transitional directors will be overseeing the Elections Committee. These three members, one of whom is the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), are responsible for treating complaints by candidates and applying any sanctions if required. If any candidate does not agree with the Election Committee’s decision, they may appeal it to the Appeals Committee, composed of three other students. All decisions by the Appeals Committee are final. Please consult our Electoral Code for more information.

If positions still remain vacant after these by-elections, the Board will have the power to appoint interim Executive members to fill any vacancies on the Executive Committee; such interim Executives would be in place until the General Elections.

Yes. Vacancies do not hinder the Board’s ability to pass binding motions, and any vacant Executive positions can be filled by an interim member.

Please note this by-election will be taking place entirely online.